Fitbit, Dolce Diet, Motivation

So it’s been almost 2 weeks since I finished my exam and started focusing on me: training, happiness and health and good god do I feel like a new person. You never know how stressed you are until you sleep a full night through like a baby and realise how rock bottom tired you have been for 6 months.

With the exception of Friday, I have been at the gym every day for the last week and a half, spurred on by two major sources of motivation.

I came across an article on Ronda Rousey, and American MMA fighter, started following her Instagram, and saw her referencing The Dolce Diet. Another following click later and two books read and without having really achieved much to gloat about myself I can officially say that Mike Dolce is a genius and where has this advice been for the last ten years of my training? Mike Dolce manages a lot of weight cuts for professional MMA fighters and while I don’t need to do any such thing for my taekwondo grading, I still obviously need to get in serious shape and lose some jiggle.

Having worked in the beauty industry including working with 2 weight loss programs, the Dolce advice just makes sense over everything else I have seen and if you’re even just looking to improve your overall health, his books 3 Weeks to Shredded and Living Lean are motivational and easy to follow. They have also given me a huge range of exercise regimes and moves that saved me the $90 I was going to spend on an initial personal training session. Check out his website here.

My second motivation is a snazzy little gadget called the Fitbit Flex. I had been umming and ahhing about getting one for some time thinking it was just a glorified pedometer and it’s not really relevant to my training, but 4 days after buying it I am hooked. I’m pushing myself harder and harder in the gym to see how many little lights I can get firing and having an alien object on your wrist when you are reaching for the chocolate is exceptionally good motivation.

So the bad news is that I have only lost half a kilo. The good news is I no longer need to suck in my stomach, I had to buy two new pairs of smaller jeans on the weekend and I feel fitter and stronger already. Worth it.

Health and happiness-wise; I take 4 supplements a day now which have all made enormous changes to my energy and immune system: vitamin c (haven’t been sick in months, normally I have a cold every 8 weeks), a probiotic, fish oil, and coconut oil – yes a spoon of it in the morning has virtually cured my hypoglycaemia, and given me more energy than a red bull could ever hope to. Not to mention actually having time to go shopping for jeans, bras, and towels does a world of good for your sanity.

Goals for this week? Gym everyday, work on my flexibility, follow the Dolce Diet principles, and (groundbreaking!!) give myself a well-overdue haircut.

Xx

image

Leave a Reply

